Hi Ho, Hi Bloody Ho….

…it’s off to work I go. After over three weeks off, due to illness and Christmas, I head back to work today. L and I get up early together, as she is back as a day patient today. She eats breakfast reasonably cheerfully, although we are both fairly robotic. K comes and joins us. We both ask her why on earth she is up at that time, but it is lovely to see her. A taxi arrives to take L to the unit – this is a feature of the day patient programme. I try to suppress the guilt about NHS resources being spent in this way, but it is part of the day programme service.

Work is ok, I try to remember what the priorities were before I was off. There are the obligatory mountain of emails, catching up with colleagues and answering queries. Many close colleagues ask how L has been over Christmas. I tell of her weight loss and constant controlling. I’m more cheerful when I describe her NYE drunkenness. But I have a sense of life getting back to normal, of balancing work and life and generally failing. I am due in London two or three nights next week and I will have to really firm with C and L’s father about the need for close supervision of snacks and meals. Life cannot stop for anorexia completely, we have to fit life around it and anorexia around life.

Leave a Reply

