Today was good….

…..we walked the length of a gorge, to a lookout point over a canyon. L laughed and joked with her sister and seemed her old goofy self. Her sister disappeared down a sudden ditch and L howled hysterically, in a good way, till even her sister saw the funny side. She ate a square of chocolate I passed her without comment.

I have no medicine that will make her well. I know nothing of therapeutic methods, of psychiatry or psychology. I just know how to be her mum, to love her and to make her world as normal and safe as can be, until she finds the strength to recover. Every day like today will help her do that. Don’t ask me how I know. I just do.

Leave a Reply

