And breathe…

The evening meal and two snacks are eaten with little resistance. We are both drained. Poor L. She thinks she hasn’t made progress, when she has come such a long way, but anorexia doesn’t give up. It will pull her back into its grip at the first moment of weakness.

I am running a bath – I hope that by loading it with lavender oil I might sleep. This is one day in one girl’s fight to recover and there are many more like this to come. Tomorrow we will celebrate the New Year and I will be so glad to see the end of 2012. But 2013 may be just as hard.

One response to “And breathe…

  1. I just want to let you know that you’re doing all the things I really wish my own parent had done, but was unable to. I am now 30 and still struggling in many ways, although it isn’t always visible to others. L really needs you to be strong for her right now, and to fight against the anorexia when she isn’t strong enough to do so herself. I know it must be really difficult, but you are doing the right thing, even when it feels exhausting. By being strong now, you will hopefully be shortening the length of time anorexia has a grip on her mind, and saving her years and years of struggles in the future. It will be worth it and she will thank you for it, I am sure. Wishing you a 2013 full of progress in the fight against anorexia, and of happy family times together.

Leave a Reply

